Three BC ski racers qualify for World Junior Championships at Panorama, B.C.

Panorama Resort will host the major international ski event in March 2022

“Representing Canada on home soil is very exciting. I feel like I have the speed to really compete”.

Three BC Alpine skiers were named to Team Canada for the upcoming FIS Alpine Junior World Ski Championships in Panorama, B.C., March 1-9, 2022. The event features the best junior ski racers in the world (born between 2001 and 2005), and is considered a critical point in the ski racing pathway.

Whistler skiers Tait Jordan and Nathan Romanin are joined by Gerrit Van Soest, of Vernon, B.C. to join Team Canada at the event.

Club: Whistler Mountain Ski Club
Age: 19

Tait Jordan follows in the steps of his brother Asher, who has been representing Canada on the international stage since 2018 as a member of the Canadian Alpine Ski Team. Tait finished a career-high 6th place super-G finish in the Nor-Am Cup race in December 2021. 

“Representing Canada on home soil is very exciting,” said Jordan, 19.  “I feel like I have the speed to really compete”.

Club: Whistler Mountain Ski Club
Age: 19

Nathan Romanin has had a breakout season in 2021-22 with five wins on the FIS (International Ski Federation) circuit to go along with two top-15 finishes on the Nor Am tour, the highest level of racing in North America. 

"Extremely honoured to represent Canada at our home WJC. It’s been a dream of mine for many years and I’m counting down the days to show what I’ve got,” said Romanin.

Club: Vernon Ski Club
Age: 20

Vernon skier Gerrit Van Soest has been a consistend performer for the BC Ski Team in 2022, and will get his first chance to represent Canada at the World Juniors.

“I’m stoked to represent Canada on home turf. I’ve never been more excited to go fast.”

Team Canada – Men:

  • Etienne Mazellier (20) - Club de Ski Stoneham, QC
  • Gerrit Van Soest (20) – Okanagan Ski Team/Vernon Ski Club, B.C.
  • Logan Dunn (21) – Nakiska Alpine Ski Association, AB
  • Nathan Romanin (20) - Whistler Mountain Ski Club, B.C.
  • Raphael Lessard (20) – Bromont Ski Club, QC
  • Tait Jordan (19) – Whistler Mountain Ski Club, B.C.

Team Canada – Women:

  • Arianne Forget (18) – Belle Neige S1 Racing, QC
  • Britt Richardson (18) – Calgary Alpine Racing Club, AB 
  • Cassidy Gray (21) – Team Panorama Ski Club, B.C.
  • Justine Lamontagne (19) – Mont-Ste-Anne, QC
  • Kiara “Kiki” Alexander (20) – Sunshine Village, AB
  • Sarah Bennett (20) – Club de Ski Stoneham, QC

About BC Alpine Ski Association

VISION: To inspire skiers for life and develop world-class athletes. MISSION: To lead and govern the sport of Alpine Ski Racing in BC, to provide leadership and structure for our clubs to deliver high quality, sustainable and affordable programming and to communicate the competitive, recreational and lifestyle benefits of ski racing to the community. See more at

Media Contact:
Anders Hestdalen
BC Alpine Ski Association
(604) 612-0633

Share this News Release
Get in Touch

Key Takeaways

  • BC skiers qualify for international event



Kathy Stahr

BC Alpine Ski Association

Email Us Here

Vancouver, BC



Visit Our Website

Visit Our Blog